The History of
Mount Vernon  Baptist Church

From the beautiful beginnings, to where we are today there is a lot of rich history between…


In 1927, the late Rev. G. H. Wingfield started a community church school in a one-room house located on Third Avenue. Children began coming to Christ in such numbers that we had to move to a three-room house on First Avenue. We had high-spirited services and there were times the house began to rock and shake. The congregation continued to grow until we didn’t have enough room to worship. The request was made to Rev. G.H. Wingfield that we wanted a church. Rev. Wingfield responded to our request and went to Rev. Charles Williams to obtain permission from him to organize one.

The church was organized on Wednesday, April 2, 1930. Those present were Reverends G. H. Wingfield, P.A. Green, O. C. Parker, and Eddie Williams; Deacons Willie Bogan and Henry Grier; Brothers Johnny Bostic and Earl Fryer; Sisters Delia Derricott, Lizzie Bynes, Georgia Williams, Frances Williams, Margaret Bogan, Mamie Thomas, Irene Grier, Ida Bogan, Mamie Lou Wingfield, Ida Bostic, and Ellen Peterson. Chil- dren present were Henry Wingfield, William Bostic, Thelma Wingfield, Johnnie Mae Bostic, and Richard (Jack) Bynes. The Rev. O. C. Parker presided. Deacon Henry Grier named the church – Mount Vernon Baptist Church. There was not a church nearby with that name. Rev. Eddie Williams prayed, and Rev. P. Green delivered the sermon.

After the sermon, the doors of the church were opened. The following people joined: Sis. Lizzie Bynes, Sis. Margaret Bogan, Sis Georgia Williams, and Sis. Frances Williams. Rev. G. H. Wingfield was called as Pas- tor and the Rev. P. A. Green led him to the pulpit and presented him with a Bible. The service closed with a song and dismissal prayer by Rev. O.C. Parker. Following the dismissal, a repast was served. Sis Ellen Pe- terson, Sis. Ida Bostic, and Sis. Ida Bogan provided and served coffee, condiments, and food. We continued to worship in the old three-room house until we purchased a house from Deacon Mal Tubman. This house was torn down and a new church built to serve Almighty God. Mr. Willie Parks framed the first church while staying at the home of Deacon and Sister Willie (Ida) Bogan until he completed his work. Shortly af- ter completion, we moved into the church. The church had no windows or doors and we had boards nailed against the walls for seats, kerosene lamps hung on the walls for light, and a pot-bellied coal heater was used to keep us warm. Many souls were saved, and members were added to the fold.

In 1979, Rev. Cook presented to the church the consideration of possibly purchasing Calvary Baptist Church. Negotiations and programmatic interventions began with the following people in pursuit: Rev. F. Francis Cook, E. L. Thomas, Bernice Bogan, John Swint, Henry Howard, Henry Brooks, Charles Walker, and Dr. Raymond Bard. The amount of $175,000.00 was agreed upon between the officers of Calvary Baptist Church and Mt. Vernon Baptist Church. We shared occupancy with Calvary Baptist Church until Easter Sunday 1980, when we permanently relocated to this building (1930 Olive Road). When we made this journey, we had a total of 18 consistent paying members. Rev. Cook continued to serve as Pastor until his resignation in 1981.


  • Sis Elizabeth Chapman became the Sunday School Superintendent in Sis. Chapman served in this capacity for fifty- four years.
  • In 1949, Sister Bernice Bogan, Minister of Music, began playing piano for the church at the age of nine. She continues to play for Mt. Vernon Baptist Church today.
  • The Southside Tutorial Program, Inc., which is housed at the Mt. Vernon Baptist Church was estab- lished in The tutorial program encompasses grade levels second through twelfth and all academic areas are supported.
  • The late Mother Ida Bogan who was the last founding member passed away October 21, 2007, one month from the age of 102 years old.
  • The late Deacon Harvey Fields was a lifelong member of the church and for many years served as Su- perintendent of Sunday School and in this role, he coordinated and directed Vacation Bible School and was Midday Bible Study Teacher for twenty-three (23) years.
  • As an annual church accomplishment Mt. Vernon provides scholarships to students who attend liberal and academic colleges, and/or technical colleges.
  • Under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, Mrs. Janie Green and with the support of our dear late Pastor Marvin L. McRae, Sr. the Voices of Mt. Vernon were started. On November 16, 2008, the Youth Choir of Mt. Vernon was renamed the Marvin McRae, Sr. Memorial Choir. The choir was dedicated on May 22, 2009.
  • Under the pastorate of Reverend Chavous Boyd he licensed one, Sis. Marilyn G. Heath as a minister on November 15, 2009.
  • The church renamed the finance committee room as the Deacon Theodore Miller Trustee
  • The church voted Lizzie Neely to become the church mother.
  • The old original cornerstone located at our previous house of worship on First Avenue was removed and relocated to our current address and was installed as an activity for the church’s 85th Anniversary.
  • Mount Vernon now has a presence on the World Wide Web with the launching of the new church web- site: The website went “live” on the first Sunday in May 2012.
  • The late Sister Willie Mae Chandler was our oldest church member who passed away at the age of one- hundred and six (106) years old. While she was able, she was a faithful and dedicated member of the Board of Ushers.
  • 2019 During the 89th Church Anniversary, the late Trustee Slaughter was honored for his initiative of providing the first $1000.00 toward the acquisition of an elevator. A Dedication Plaque was placed over of the elevator in honor of Trustee Slaughter. Even before his death, Trustee Slaughter continued to have Mt Vernon on his mind. He made the church beneficiary of a substantial monetary contribution that was presented to the church by his wife following his death.
  • The late Sister Margaret Chapman, so fondly known as “Dot”, was the Church Clerk and had served in that capacity for thirty-three (33) years and kept impeccable records. Sister Gerri Bogan was newly elected as Church Clerk and Sister Valerie McGahee was elected Assistant Church Clerk.
  • A voice so fondly remembered was the late Brother Thomas Green, husband to Sis. Janie Green, a lifetime member of the church, faithful trustee, a member of the Ida Bogan Male Chorus and the F. Cook Gospel Memorial Choir /Sanctuary Choir, where he led many spirit filled songs over the years.

Since 2022, our Pastor, Reverend Javon Jackson,  has led with his vision of Refresh and S.H.I.F.T (Seeking Him Intentionally For Transformation) and we were Blessed to make the following major improvements:

  • Sunday morning worship service and Wisdom Wednesday evening bible study could be heard via con- ference call and seen on Facebook and YouTube.
  • The Pastor’s office was completely refurbished
  • There were some audio system improvements with additional microphones
  • The wrought iron handrails to the steps leading to the choir stand and sanctuary on both sides were extended to increase safety
  • A new keyboard, fax machine and sanitizing equipment was purchased
  • A partial part of the roof was replaced


  • Continued efforts in progress pertaining to installation of video system and audio
  • Institution of the Worship Team and Outreach Team
  • Plans to repair additional roof issues and AC

We pray for continued leadership and service from our Pastor as he continues to receive divine guidance and inspiration from God.